lasasac.blogg.se

Cyrano de bergerac film streaming
Cyrano de bergerac film streaming




cyrano de bergerac film streaming

I literally - all of my lesbian friends are, like, I kind of feel like I'm going straight for Paul.

CYRANO DE BERGERAC FILM STREAMING MOVIE

But I think as the movie goes on, like, I think everyone falls in love with Paul. And the goal for me was always, you know, I don't want to cast, like, someone who you look at, and immediately, they look like a Hollywood pretty boy. I think he's the most emotionally intelligent character in the film. SIMON: Paul is easy to dismiss as a lunkhead - I think is your term - but he's a good soul, isn't he? Someone in this town that is around my age actually gets what I have to say? And that is a very, like, almost too delicious thing to pass up when you're a lonely kid. And once Aster starts to respond, I think what happens for Ellie is, hang on. This guy's offering her money to write one letter for him. And in this case, it's literally, like, the electric bill is overdue, the lights are about to be shut off.

cyrano de bergerac film streaming

WU: Yeah, I think in the very beginning, the last thing Ellie wants to do is to help what she perceives as this lunkhead pursue the girl that she actually - whether she's admitting it to herself or not, she has a very secret crush on. SIMON: It's hilarious the way that Ellie begins to regard her ghostwriting for Paul as a kind of mutual project, making the best case to Aster Flores. And what I've discovered is that, surprisingly, that ends up making very different kinds of people relate to your characters. So I write from this deep sort of personal place that comes from, you know, experiences I've had in my own life or people I've observed. Like, I sort of write to understand the world and maybe to understand myself.

cyrano de bergerac film streaming

WU: You know, I didn't because - I'll be honest - at the point I'm writing the script I don't think this thing is going to get made. SIMON: Speaking as a filmmaker who wants to bring Chinese American stories to the screen, did you worry about making Ellie seem to fulfill a stereotype? - the Chinese kid who's the smartest kid in school, also plays classical piano. But to sort of help make ends meet - because, unfortunately, her mom passed away a few years ago - she is basically writing school papers or term papers for her fellow classmates for pay.

cyrano de bergerac film streaming

And Ellie, essentially, is kind of a loner. And now this Chinese immigrant family is almost practically the only nonwhite family in town. It's kind of one of the towns that feels a little like America forgot about it. And she's kind of stuck in a small, rural town. WU: Ellie is a Chinese American immigrant moved to the U.S. What a wonderfully engaging character and a young entrepreneur, we should note, isn't she? Thanks so much for being with us.ĪLICE WU: Thank you, Scott. It's her first feature since "Saving Face" in 2004, which was lauded for its strong women Asian characters. "The Half Of It" is directed by Alice Wu. The film also stars Daniel Diemer and Alexxis Lemire. LEWIS: (As Ellie Chu) That just means that you're stubborn, not that you're in love.ĭIEMER: (As Paul Munsky) No, it's love. I think about her when I wake up and when I'm doing my sprints and when I'm eating my mom's bratwurst and when I'm saying my prayers and. LEWIS: (As Ellie Chu) But you know you love her?ĭIEMER: (As Paul Munsky) I know. LEWIS: (As Ellie Chu) Have you ever spoken to her?ĭIEMER: (As Paul Munsky) I'm not good with words. LEAH LEWIS: (As Ellie Chu) So what you're trying to say is.ĭANIEL DIEMER: (As Paul Munsky) I'm in love with her. Think of "Cyrano De Bergerac" in Squahamish, a small town in the woods of Washington state where Paul Munsky, a high school jock, hires Ellie Chu, the brightest kid in class, to express his ardor for their classmate in notes and text messages. But it's not like any of the other coming-of-age rom-coms you may have seen streaming. "The Half Of It" is a coming-of-age rom-com on Netflix.






Cyrano de bergerac film streaming